Melodious Strains

image

Once a year, I have the privilege of listening to an assembly of vocalists forming a choir and rehearsing Renaissance polyphony music for a Latin mass. I’m now seated in the basement of Holy Trinity Catholic Church in Dallas, listening as they practice Tomas Luis de Victoria’s “Missa Quam Pulchri Sunt” along with related motets and Gregorian chant.

I just finished reading William Butler Yeats’s “Ego Dominus Tuus” while listening to the beautiful strains of music from the rehearsal in the adjoining room, and I’m convinced that I should acquire some CDs or dial up YouTube to listen to this kind of music while reading or making art in the studio. I’m so glad I brought along my sketchbook and pencils. I drew this tree as I listened with a grateful heart.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

