Good Thoughts Stretching into the Night

One Man Show Art Center Poster

Ὁ βίος βραχύς,ἡ δὲ τέχνη μακρή,ὁ δὲ καιρὸς ὀξύς,ἡ δὲ πεῖρα σφαλερή,ἡ δὲ κρίσις χαλεπή.

Life is short, and art long, opportunity fleeting, experience perilous, and decision difficult.

Hippocrates

As my age creeps closer to 62, I find these late-night sessions preparing Advanced Placement Art History classes to be filled with clashing sentiments of a weary body and an exhilarated mind.  Yes, I feel cranky over the loss of sleep, but the ocean of art in which I find myself treading water fills my imagination with childlike wonder.

Late tonight, I finished my last A. P. Art History class before Spring Break and that comes with a splendid feeling of accomplishment.  Above, I’ve posted am image of the poster that the Art Center in Corpus Christi has placed in the midst of my show that opened last week. I’m counting the days till I get to meet interested people at the Artist’s Reception March 16 from 5-7:00. Below I’m going to post a few photos of the thirty-four paintings I’ve placed in the show.

Thanks for reading, and perhaps I’ll have the time and space to post more thoughts tomorrow.

Across the View $550

Across the View

Firewheel Frenzy $450

Firewheel Frenzy

Following the Labyrinthe $750

Following the Labyrinthe

Drybrush Ruminations $525

Drybrush Ruminations

Homer's Wine-Dark Sea $400

Homer’s Wine-Dark Sea

Shell Collaboration $470

Shell Collaboration

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Good Thoughts Stretching into the Night”

  1. Elaine Jary Says:

    Love these! Especially Homer’s Wine Dark Sea & Shell Collaboration! Beautiful.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you! Homer is a plein air piece done on the island.

      Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      I did a number of shell paintings on my last full day on the island (did Homer’s Wine Dark Sea on that day too), but Shell Collaboration is the first one I did back home in my studio. I’m glad I kept good records–had to go back and check on these facts (the blog is a great archive to assist our short memories!).

      Like

Leave a Reply

