The Morning After

 

reception

I’d rather be ashes than dust. I’d rather be a superb meteor, every atom of me in magnificent glow, than a sleepy and permanent planet. The proper function of man is to live, not exist.

Jack London

I just wanted to say Thank You to all the well-wishers for last night’s Artist’s Reception at the Art Center of Corpus Christi. The gallery was full all night, conversations were very rich, people I’ve come to love in this Corpus Christi and surrounding community were there with genuine support and some pieces sold. I could not be happier.

When I was younger, I really dug that Jack London quote posted above, along with Kerouac’s notion of Roman candles exploding in the night. At this age, I no longer feel I’m packing that kind of dynamite. Last night’s experience was deeply rewarding, but I seem to function better these days when things are quieter. Today I slept in, tired from the late night antics, but now, with batteries recharged, I’m anxious to meet my workshop participants once more. Time with these artists has been sublime, and I’ll be sad to say good-bye when we finish today.

Thanks for reading.

reception 2

6 Responses to “The Morning After”

  1. Brien Nicolau Says:

    David, the pleasure was all ours!

    Like

  2. Elaine Says:

    Congratulations on a successful show! It is well deserved.

    Like

  3. Ken Reese Says:

    David… Sandy and I really enjoyed your show and exhibit last night. It was good to see you and visit again. Our door is always open when you get down to Rockport.

    Like

Leave a Reply

