Relaxing in Good Memories

Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.

Pablo Picasso

image

The Remarkable Art Center Staff (L to R):

Sindi Alvarado, Education Coordinator; Dianna Bluntzer, Director; Sierra Shamblin, Exhibits Coordinator/Creative Manager

artist in residence friends

My Dear Friends in the Laguna Madre Experience (L to R):

Brien Nicolau, Asst. Dir. Center for Coastal Studies; Dinah Bowman, Bowman Design and Framing; Beth Almaraz, Center for Coastal Studies

final look

One final look at the show before closing

Words fail to convey my deep appreciation to all the people who enriched my life over the past year with the Artist-in-Residence experience at the Texas Laguna Madre. I posted my favorite photos of the ones who worked closest with me in getting this exhibit off the ground. Though I’m now more than six hours away, I feel their spirits and treasure every thought of them. The show will come down March 26.

My first day back was spent pursuing art matters. I traveled to the Fort Worth Community Arts Center to view their exhibit of over 300 artists. The reception will be tomorrow night during Gallery Night. The Center is located at 1300 Gendy St. in Fort Worth, 76107. I look forward to meeting several of the artists with whom I am close friends, and am honored to have one piece hanging in the exhibit:Tarrant County Courthouse Cupola

After viewing that exhibit, I enjoyed an evening in the Kimbell Art Museum and Fort Worth Museum of Modern Art, viewing the works and making quick sketches in my journal.

In closing, I’m posting photos of some of the highlights of the workshop I enjoyed Tuesday through Thursday at the Art Center of Corpus Christi:

9

8

1

4

6

2

7

10

3

The enthusiasm and drive of this group of workshop participants was beyond belief. I walked among them in a state of perpetual amazement during the two-and-a-half days we spent together. When I return to my work schedule next week, I’ll carry every good memory from the coast with me in gratitude.

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

