Opening Day of the Festival

image

image

image

And, as imagination bodies forth
The forms of things unknown, the poet’s pen
Turns them to shapes, and gives to airy nothing
A local habitation and a name.

William Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, V, 1

It has been years since I set up my booth in sixty-degree weather with cool winds blowing. I felt a soothing calm as I built my “house” and designed an atelier under the roof. Now I sit and watch patrons casually drift from booth to booth, proud to play a part in this venue, Kennedale’s Brickworks Art in the Park Festival this weekend.

I have returned to Shakespeare with delight, brooding over the words posted above. Surrounded now by my art, I have this chance to look on a body of work that expresses the daily sights and sensations that inspire me to record in images and words. As I write this, a jazz band plays on the stage and the music mirrors what I feel this evening. The sun is low, shadows long, conversations gentle and soothing–all adding up to create a satisfying world.

Thanks for reading.

6 Responses to “Opening Day of the Festival”

  1. moonskittles Says:

    They all look delightful! Best of luck!

    Like

  2. Xraypics Says:

    It all looks and sounds enchanting, great weather, good music AND Shakespeare – Willie Waggledagger as we impertinently called him at school – come together to a stunning day. I hope you had a great meal to follow and a full night’s sleep to make it just perfect.

    Like

  3. Xraypics Says:

    Next time you are teaching Shakespeare to a class, DO NOT think of that name whilst trying to say something profound….

    Like

Leave a Reply

