Festival Ponderings

image

Ultimately, it doesn’t matter to the world if you paint or dance or write. The world can probably get by without the product of your efforts . But that is not the point. The point is what the process of following your creative impulses will do for you. It is clearly about process. Love the work, love the process.

Ian Roberts, Creative Authenticity

Tucked inside my 10 x 10′ “art chapel, cooled by 66-degree breezes, I’m catching up on some quality reading, and felt warmed by this statement from Ian Roberts. It reminds me of Motherwell’s remark about the freedom of pursuing the life f an artist, yet a depressed freedom: “If nobody gives a damn what you paint, why not just paint what you like?” Well, I do paint what I like. And, regardless of whether or not I have a following, there is a cleansing and feeling of wholeness that accompanies the making of art. There is nothing like it, to me. And the invitation to set up a display allows me three quality days for sitting and reflecting over these good things, and to visit with patrons.

Thanks for reading. Even if no one read these posts, they’re just as rewarding to me as writing in my journal.

5 Responses to “Festival Ponderings”

  1. Jay Haeske Says:

    That is encouraging, especially for some one whose artistic output is far less accomplished as yours. Thank you. Jay

    Like

  2. Jane Hannah Says:

    I always read all of your posts David — they are bloody interesting and motivate me to continue & pursue my own artistic path!

    Like

  3. Nicolette la O Says:

    Thank you for this encouraging message! In the “busyness” of things, it is easy to forget what matters most!

    Like

Leave a Reply

