Closing Out the Second Day

image

“Behind every man’s busy-ness there should be a level of undisturbed serenity and industry, as within the reef encircling a coral isle there is always an expanse of still water, where the depositions are going on which will finally raise it above the surface.”

Henry David Thoreau, A Week on the Concord and Merrimack Rivers

The day has been amazing, with plenty of opportunities for painting reading and journaling.

image

image

image

image

image

Looking back over what I have been able to accomplish today, it appears that I have been busy, but I haven’t felt that way at all. The time and the pace were so leisurely, that I felt as though I were a child at play, rather than a worker trying to accomplish specific tasks. I guess, to draw from Thoreau’s metaphor, my life today has been the still waters behind the reef.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

