Turning a Couple of Corners

image

Nature strews her nuts and flowers broadcast, and never collects them into heaps. This was the soil it grew in, and this the hour it bloomed in; if sun, wind, and rain came here to cherish and expand the flower, shall not we come here to pluck it?

Henry David Thoreau, A Week on the Concord and Merrimack Rivers

After napping this afternoon, I awoke to a sun-splashed island, and a renewed energy to paint en plein air. Reading the above text from Thoreau inspired me as I was looking across this field of wildflowers, grasses, and cacti. In the past, I have been frequently flummoxed as I looked at a complicated world before me, and wondered how to select from the variety of stimuli to form a composition for a painting. The words of Thoreau really did come through for me today, and I delighted in this experience. This is the first time I managed to get the textures of the Lagoon to look the way I wanted them to look, and I accomplished it by scraping with an exacto knife while the wash was still wet. The layers of grasses and flowers provided their usual challenge, but I kept applying layers of masking, and finally got what I was after.

The sun has gotten low, and I have lost my light for painting, so I will have to wait until tomorrow to resume where I have left off. But in the meantime, I am loving the winds coming out of the east, and the words of Thoreau are washing over my soul.

Words fail me when I try to record my love for this environment, and appreciation for those who have made it possible for me to come out here again. After a year’s time, I feel that my plein air paintings of this location have matured, and I cannot wait to compare this current portfolio with last year’s.

Thanks always for reading and showing interest in what I do.

I paint in order to learn.
I journal when I feel alone.
I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Leave a Reply

