Final Painting in Solitude

image

I started this painting yesterday evening, and was really getting into it when the light went away. Throughout this day, I have been busy with other paintings, mostly finishing some that I had started earlier in the week, but all along I have been looking forward to returning to this one and finishing it up. I am glad to complete it at last, and now just kick back and read the evening away.

I feel that I’ve done my last “solitude” painting on this island before the workshop arrives in the morning. I am satisfied with my output. Last summer I completed nineteen paintings in six days; this time I managed fourteen in four days. And I like this year’s paintings far more than last year’s.  Having a considerable stretch of time to evaluate work from last year has been a quick trip for my endeavor this time around.

My focus over the next three days will be on teaching and assisting in any way that I can. I may create some more paintings, but that is no longer my priority. I really am looking forward to working with others now.

Thank you for staying with me and observing my work this week.

I paint in order to learn.
I journal when I feel alone.
I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

3 Responses to “Final Painting in Solitude”

  1. Donna C, Artist Says:

    I look forward to reading more here on your blog.
    I just wanted to let you know I shared this site on my Desiderata Studio FB page. Cannot express what insight (and rest) I got on the island. Still on island time, in a way. Very relaxed. And feeling better every day. Cough continues but hey…. πŸ˜‰ I am hopeful for the fall. πŸ™‚
    (http://facebook.com/DesiderataStudio

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you so much for the shout-out, Donna! I haven’t blogged for a long time, but started an entry this morning and got interrupted. The draft still is waiting. I’ve been painting in St. Louis since I saw all of you, and I’m struggling with it. But I feel I’m learning from some of the mistakes. Thank you for staying in touch. Your work is terrific!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Donna C, Artist Says:

    It’s amazing how watercolor (or any art really)…. well, how we keep on learning. Never stop learning–it’s a lovely way to live, not static and stuck in a rut. Happy Painting, may you have epiphanies as you explore! πŸ™‚
    Thank you so much for your complement. It *does* mean the world to me. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

