The Dawn Light

image

This world has many rings, like Saturn, and we live now on the outmost of them all.

Henry David Thoreau, A Week on the Concord and Merrimack Rivers

On the second morning of my island sojourn, I started painting the power plant visible across the Lagoon. I did not return to it until this morning, because the light was not the same. Whereas I started painting it in soft, ethereal light, the second and third mornings it showed in bold relief, and it just wasn’t the same. On this morning, I am trying to capture it in those soft hues once again, engulfed in a lavender sky and calm waters.

This is my last day to be alone before the workshop arrives. I am really looking forward to working with five other plein air painters for a couple of days, and sharing the experience of this enchanting environment.

Thanks for reading.
I paint in order to learn.
I journal when I feel alone.
I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

3 Responses to “The Dawn Light”

  1. coreyaber Says:

    Glad to see you’re back on the coast. I like the way you’ve been handling the water in this round of paintings. Interesting subtlety

    Like

  2. Kenneth Reese Says:

    Interesting fact about this power plant… I’m pretty sure this is the one that I’m talking about… during one of the hurricanes to hit CC about 45 years or so ago, the part of the bay that your are on was on the back wind side of the storm. The water blew out of the bay, reverse storm surge so to speak, and the power plant lost cooling water and had to shut down. Some of the repair people that worked for me were down here helping to get the electricity back on. They said the locals said you could walk across Laguna Madre except for the boat channels during the storm. Must kind of sedate now compared to what it was at that time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

