Retreat to Recharge

main watercolor

drawingwatercolor

drawing 2

. . . the quality of the imagination is to flow, and not to freeze. The poet did not stop at the color, or the form, but read their meaning; neither may he rest in this meaning, but he makes the same objects exponents of his new thought.

Ralp Waldo Emerson, “The Poet”

I don’t recall my last blog post, as life has been a blur for over a month now.  Two excursions to Arkansas, finishing school, dashing to the island on the Laguna Madre, and then driving to St. Louis–all these events have compacted in such a way that I reached a point where I needed to stop, regather some quiet around me, read some books, scribble in my journal, and attempt some new sketches and watercolors.

The blog silence was not an indicator of discontent, but a dearth of ideas and paintings to share. I’m now posting some sketches I’ve attempted the past few days.

I’ve had little space around me to think and write as I wish, but have been nourished with some quality reading of late that I look forward to sorting and sharing soon. As to painting, I’m experimenting with some pigments I haven’t used in over five years–burnt and raw sienna, raw umber, permanent sap green and Chinese white gouache. I’m looking forward to seeing what they yield.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to learn.
I journal when I feel alone.
I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

image

2 Responses to “Retreat to Recharge”

  1. scamp1010 Says:

    always love to read your blog my friend 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

