Multi-Tasking in Colorado

Tucker Pond multi tasking

Geez! Fumbling with my Phone while Plein Air Painting and Trout Fishing!

Even a soul submerged in sleep is hard at work, and helps make something of the world.

Heraclitus

Sleep did not come easy last night as my mind flowed with a myriad of thoughts and would not shut down. Yet I awoke at 5:00 this morning, filled with a spirit of expectancy, believing that today was going to be an excellent day.

Annie

Sitting on the front porch with a cup of coffee and Annie Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, I enjoyed the snap to the air with temperatures hanging around 45 degrees. I read until Ron and Dian picked me up at 6:45 and we embarked on our 45-minute drive up to an altitude of 9600 feet and temperatures registering 38 degrees. Tucker Pond was beautiful with the mist rolling off its surface and trout constantly roiling the waters.

Multi-tasking seems to be my way of life.  I set up the easel as soon as I had my line cast into the waters.  Sure enough, just as I finished blocking in the sky, my rod jerked hard, and I saw a rainbow about 18 inches long fighting for his freedom.  He won, as I was too impatient to play him out, trying to put a net on him when he still had plenty of strength. I knew better.  On a more positive note, I always think trout are easier to cook when smaller anyway.

As I painted the morning away, I would lose several quality trout as they struck and stole my bait before I could lay down the brush and take up the rod.  Nevertheless, we intended to take four for our evening meal, and we each managed to land a pair.

trout

The entire time I gazed into the forest adjoining Tucker Pond, I thought of what I was reading from Annie Dillard about “color patches” and the way it reminded me of Paul Cezanne’s theories of color when painting in plein air.  I was smitten by the sight of the golden greens in the pine trees and how they contrasted with the blue spruce colors. The rose colors of the distant mountain to the left of the forest also held my attention. The morning was everything I had anticipated when I awoke with a sense of gladness before dawn.

Tucker Pond painting (2)

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to learn.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

Tags: , ,

10 Responses to “Multi-Tasking in Colorado”

  1. Elaine Jary Says:

    A beautiful post, thank you David! Love the colors in your plein air painting.

    Like

  2. Margaret Parker Brown Says:

    there is something magical about plein air painting and you combined it with fishing and learning and reading….and….great post and a wonderful plein air.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you for writing, Margaret. Yes, I enter a different zone when I paint en plein air, and enjoy it immensely even when the painting doesn’t work out. There is no describing the feelings and thoughts that flow through me when I am engaging nature directly. I appreciate your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dian Darr Says:

    It is so joyous to be a part of this experience!

    Like

  4. Xraypics Says:

    I look forward to seeing a watercolour of those fresh brown trout!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. davidtripp Says:

    I’ll have to try that out back in the studio, Tony. Painting a live trout would result in a dead one.

    Like

  6. foresterartist Says:

    Now that’s my kind of vacation David. Great post, I was relaxed just reading it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

