The Long Road Home

image

I was greeted with a surprise when I began to load the car at 4:30 this morning in the dark. Apparently a bear visited my trash can in the night, and of course it gave me pause, wondering if he could be lurking in the bushes eyeing me as fresh meat!

My initial hour of driving was through the pre-dawn darkness, and deer were seen everywhere on both sides of the highway, so of course I had to navigate slowly and carefully.

image

Once the dawn broke, I could relax with my coffee and enjoy letting my thoughts drift as I recounted with Thanksgiving all the wonderful memories of this past week in Colorado.

Before my next Art Fair on July 10th, I have a number of ideas I am anxious to pursue with watercolor studies, thanks to my recent encounters in Colorado, Missouri, and the Texas Laguna Madre.

I also wish to pursue writing, as Annie Dillard has inspired me to wander  down a number of new avenues of thought.  Above all, I wish to express my heartfelt appreciation to the Darrs as we renewed our friendship that had been pushed aside by our busy schedules over a number of years. Hours spent in fascinating conversation awakened me to new pursuits as well.

The 12-hour drive home is going to be a long one, but I am rested and feeling wonderful over the things that have transpired in the past week. Thanks for reading.

3 Responses to “The Long Road Home”

  1. Brien Nicolau Says:

    Safe travels amigo!

    Like

  2. Dian Darr Says:

    This week has meant so much to us. We are so grateful for your dear friendship. I hope you arrived home safely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

