Painting by Memory

image

. . . the physical world as we understand it now is more like the touch-and-go creek world I see than it is like the abiding world of which the mountains seem to speak.

Annie Dillard, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek

Since returning to my home life from vacation, daily events and appointments have been swirling, and I forced myself back into the studio this morning to try to bring this small watercolor sketch to a close. As I focused on the roiling waters of the South Fork of the Rio Grande that flowed past my cabin porch of last week, I recalled these words I recently read that contrasted my worlds of motion and stillness, rivers and mountains, Heraclitus and Parmenides, Dionysus and Apollo.

Though this is a small sketch, hardly filling an 8 x 10″ mat, it contains the world into which I gazed every day for a week, with coffee and a book or journal open before me. Colorado gave me the priceless gift of space and quiet where I could rest, reflect and restore. Despite the whirlwind about me these days, life is immeasurably better because of the week spent in this tranquil space.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to learn.
I journal when I feel alone.
I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

2 Responses to “Painting by Memory”

  1. Brien Nicolau Says:

    Beautiful as always. Your memory serves you well and allows us a small window into your world. Thank you David.

    Like

Leave a Reply

