Portals

portal

A man of genius makes no mistakes. His errors are volitional and are the portals of discovery.

James Joyce, Ulysses

With one week of school remaining before Christmas holidays begin, I was delighted this morning to be seized with the inspiration to begin a new series of work I will call “Portals.”  I have studied with interest Robert Motherwell’s “Open Door” series as well as the motif used in Henri Matisse.  As I look toward the New Year, I’m thinking of new horizons, or new portals of discovery for artistic expression and I took some time this afternoon to research my blog through the months of October through December 2012 when I first began painting vintage doorknobs. Over past years, I have collected a number of vintage doors, doorknobs and locking plates and plan to begin a new series of watercolors on these subjects this winter.  All the ones I’ve painted from the past have sold, and I’m excited at the prospect of beginning this new series.

The above painting was finished over the weekend at my favorite retreat, several hours outside the Dallas/Fort Worth metroplex.  Dear friends of mine own an old general store that is not in business, but still has a residence attached to it..  They have been gracious in allowing me access to this dwelling over selected weekends, and I thoroughly enjoyed my restful, quiet stay this past weekend.  The door separating the storeroom from the residence was one of my subjects for study the last time I stayed there, and I managed to complete the work this time.  This afternoon I took the painting to a frame shop to be custom framed and I’m excited to see how it looks when ready.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to discover.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Portals”

  1. Michael Richards (certainline) Says:

    A beautiful painting and appropriate for this time of year – new beginnings, etc. I love how you’ve managed to suggest the different textures so simply. Very lovely.

    Like

  2. Jay Haeske Says:

    Maybe you should study the ‘door’ works by Cedar Rapid’s Marvin Cone. Hard to find any information about him at all, your best bet would be the Cedar Rapids Museum Of Art and, even more so, Coe College in Cedar Rapids, who have got a splendid permanent exhibition of his work. I admire his work a whole lot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

