Living the Dream

Aunt Bea Coke

Beneath our loquacious chatter, there is a silent language of our whole being which yearns for art and the beauty from which art comes.

Rollo May, My Quest for Beauty

In the midst of this whirlwind week of finalizing details for my show opening Friday, I just made the acquaintance of a buyer who has offered to purchase the first edition of a giclee print of the painting posted above.  The original watercolor is 20 x 20″ and will be a part of my show, but I never got around to setting up an edition because I’ve been tending too many details, and now I’m gratified to know that someone loves it as much as I.

When I mounted the sign on the garden gate, I immediately was flooded with memories of my childhood when our own garden gate was choked with honeysuckle and clover. I still remember the smells of that era, and knew that I was wanting to paint this image as best I could. Painting this scene brought pure joy and memory to me, and I got lost in the details of the Coca-Cola sign with its rust and deterioration. When I have opportunity to paint and put my work on display, I am living the dream. I cannot thank the gallery owners enough for giving me this splendid opporunity for the one-man-show. I wish it were starting tomorrow.

There will be 500 prints of this image available at the same size as the original, and I am offering the print at $100.  The print is on paper, and shrinkwrapped against a foam core backing. This original painting is matted and shrinkwrapped and offered at the show for $900.

There is still much to do, and the midnight hour has already come and gone.  I regret rising at 6:00 every morning to teach, but I still have a job to do.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to discover.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

