The Weary Blues

Highway 61 Blues

Highway 61 Blues–$500 matted

There is no adequate description for the weariness dragging down my body today.  The travel over the past week, accompanied by the adrenalin rush of getting things together for this weekend’s show opening are beginning to take a toll. But still, life is good and I’m excited.

Since I have a brand new blues-related watercolor going into the show, I have decided to pull out this one from my past.  It is matted and shrinkwrapped and will be in the bin rather than hanging in the gallery.  I have priced it at $500.  The setting is the old Silver Dollar Tavern in Old Appleton, Missouri. I watercolored it years ago and have an image to show below.  That painting has long since been sold.

silver dollar tavern

The site is a sad wreck these days:

silver dollar photo

My father danced upstairs in this tavern when he was young, before entering the Korean Conflict.  With the painting going into the show, I chose to pose myself with guitar on the steps of the old site which sits on historic Highway 61, the Blues Route.

blues

Here is my newest painting to enter into the show.  I’m still waiting to pick it up from the frame shop. Only a few more days before show time and still plenty of details to clean up. But everything is progressing nicely and I couldn’t be happier.

Thanks for reading.

I make art in order to discover.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself I am not alone.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “The Weary Blues”

  1. Carol Says:

    I love reading about your show preparations and pray all will go smoothly for you. Best wishes, David!!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you for saying that, Carol. Writing about these matters sometimes helps me keep a sense of sanity about me. I am very happy with the way things are going this week, and pray that they continue.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. nomadsketch Says:

    Nice works !! well done

    Like

  3. davidtripp Says:

    Thank you so much!

    Like

  4. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    David, Very best wishes for a successful show. I love the emotional depth your paintings hold. I hope they inspire others, as they do me, to respect and value our heritage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

