Thoughts Gathering in the Late Night

fishing-memories.jpg

Fishing Memories–$1200 framed

day 2b

To speak of these things and to try to understand their nature and, having understood it, to try slowly and humbly and constantly to express, to press out again, from the gross earth or what it brings forth, from sound and shape and colour which are the prison gates of our soul, an image of the beauty we have come to understand–that is art.

James Joyce, A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man

I would be lying if I were to call this an inspiring day–after a full day in school, I spent the rest of the afternoon and evening gathering data, crunching numbers and doing all those things related to the business side of art.  I would always rather squint into the surface of a watercolor composition than between the lines of a spreadsheet.

Now that the hour has drawn late and I still haven’t found sleep, I thought I would reward myself by returning to some James Joyce texts. I’m more than halfway through Ulysses, and reading that has been an uneven experience.  Tonight’s reading was rather opaque, so finally I put the volume down and picked up his Portrait to re-read some of the portions I’ve highlighted from earlier readings. The one I quoted above is one of my favorites as the protragonist of the story thoughtfully articulates his theory of the art making enterprise. I find a close similarity between Joyce, Emerson and Heidegger as they describe the origin of art as springing from a struggle between the person and the natural world. In the days ahead, I hope I can spend more time working on the ideas of these three intriguing writers and see if I can explore further what they sought to expound.

But I believe I should retire to bed so that I may have some kind of a pulse when I face my classes yet again tomorrow.

The image I’ve posted above is one of my favorite watercolors that I worked on during winter months two or three years ago. It is my largest painting still in my collection and offered up for sale in the show at The Gallery at Redlands which closes Sunday.

Thanks for reading . . .

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Thoughts Gathering in the Late Night”

  1. SiverBlack Says:

    The quality of light in that piece is fantastic.

    Like

  2. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Wonderful painting – full of history and feeling. I love the words you shared and find that particular book the easiest for me to read when I consider the works of James Joyce. thank you for sharing them.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you! I was happy with this still life, painting it during some cold winter nights in my garage (man cave!). And yes, I just love Joyce’s Portrait, and return to it frequently to pull out my favorite passages and linger over their meanings.

      Like

Leave a comment