Pining for Plein Air Activity

South Fork Pine

Plein Air Watercolor Sketch of Colorado Pine

My one-man-show will close Sunday, April 9 at 5:00 p.m. and I hope to take a day or two to catch my breath.  Then I will dive head-first into my favorite annual plein air painting event: Paint Historic Waxahachie.  Artists who registered in advance were given the green light to begin painting April 1, but I’ve been too busy with this show and my daily school responsibilities–next week, I hope.

The watercolor sketch posted above is in my show at the Gallery at Redlands. I painted it in Colorado last summer while relaxing with daily fly fishing and plein air watercoloring. My pulse rate changes dramatically when I am in that Rocky Mountain environment, and I cannot wait to return there for an extended vacation this summer. Every time I look at this small painting, I recall those beautiful, chilly, sun-drenched mornings when I sat out on the porch of my cabin with my coffee, surveying the South Fork of the Rio Grande rolling by below.

I truly miss those days, and can’t wait for them to return.

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Pining for Plein Air Activity”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    David, this is so beautiful and remarkably realistic for being painted loosely. Well done!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you, Linda. It was a beautiful, relaxing experience. I chipped away at it during several mornings between sips of coffee, relishing the beautiful clarity of the Colorado light, the cold air, and just a general feeling of good will. By the time my trip was done, I had this small 8 x 10″ sketch that I’ve since framed and spent much time staring at in my dining room (until now, where it hangs in this show).

      Like

Leave a Reply

