Building a Collection of Train Paintings

night diesel

Working on a Diesel Locomotive Late into the Night

When I use the term artwork or art project or enterprise, I mean not only the single piece in hand but also the entire collection of pieces that severally explore the issue under investigation. Any one painting may be a view of Mont St. Victoire or a view of a cathedral in Rouen, or a self-portrait, but the project intends an exhaustive study of the subject over time and circumstance, each piece another probe via another angle of inquiry.

Peter London, Drawing Closer to Nature

The afternoon and evening have proved delicious for painting and exploring the subject of trains as I’ve been privileged to ensconce myself in The Gallery at Redlands in Palestine, Texas. The Historic Inn at Redlands, where this gallery is housed, has turned into a most friendly neighborhood, as I have come to love the owners as well as the business personnel working here. Restaurant patrons drop in throughout the night, so I never feel alone, and I’m feeling good as this collection of train watercolors continues to gain momentum. I just started on this diesel this afternoon, and feel that I may possibly finish it while staying here over the weekend.

Thanks for reading.

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

