A Grinding Day, Yet Rewarding

610 Schultz large cropped

“I work. I slave. I drive myself like a locomotive.”

Vincent Van Gogh (from Akira Kurosawa’s film Dreams)

Throughout this day, the words above have surged through my consciousness. I breathed a sigh of relief yesterday afternoon when I realized that I had no appointments between then and tonight when I meet with my circle of artist friends. Rising at 6:00 this morning, I thought I would enjoy a day of relative leisure, tweaking details for Saturday’s show. Instead I spent every hour either at the computer or at the workbench packaging my inventory–greeting cards, limited edition prints, postcards, details, details, details . . .

The call came from my printer friends that the limited editions were all ready for signing–all ninety of them.  This is the first time I have signed and numbered so many editions.

art frame factory

At least I am not behind the curve this week; the show will go on as scheduled, and I don’t anticipate feelings of being harried the day before. I could not have asked for better cooperation from all the friends and agencies that have worked together with me in this endeavor.

Thanks for reading.

I make art in order to discover.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “A Grinding Day, Yet Rewarding”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    The quote goes so well with the picture. With all the grinding paperwork, sorting, etc. it’s no wonder that you feel exhausted. To be brutally honest I’ve not had a much affinity for trains although my best friend at university was deeply enthralled by them and I was dragged along to many an old railway to see something he considered special. Nevertheless, this picture carries great power and it moves me. Thankyou for sharing it.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Oh yes, the exhaustion is real, but so is the momentum. As for me, trains struck my fancy since I got my first Lionel train set as a small boy for Christmas. I still remember the magic of seeing it under the tree on Christmas morning. Growing up, I always had to watch when a diesel roared by, and now when driving, I have to be careful, because my head turns to follow them as they move past me. Can’t explain it, really. But the fascination has remained.

      Like

  2. Eileen McKenna {my creative resolution} Says:

    Good luck! They look great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

