Today, I Proudly Accept the Liebster Award

Not long after the midnight hour, I discovered that I had been nominated for the Liebster Blog Award, and wish to express a heartfelt “Thank You” to Zeebra Designs & Destinations ( http://playamart.wordpress.com/) for this honor.  I have been a follower of this site for awhile now, and marvel at the energy this creative artist exudes in day-to-day designing.

Contingent to accepting this award, I have been asked to submit five random facts about myself:

1. I turned 59 years of age April 20, and though I have a Ph.D., I regard myself as a “gray spirit yearning in desire to follow knowledge like a sinking star, beyond the utmost bound of human thought” (“Ulysses”).

2. I received my Bachelor’s Degree in Art in 1976, but went to work in various professions, from pastoral ministry to law enforcement and ultimately to part-time university and full-time public school teaching.  I returned to art in the late 1980’s and chose to focus on watercolor, the medium I loved the most, but could never seem to master.  My guiding spirits are Andrew Wyeth, Edward Hopper, Winslow Homer and J. M. W. Turner.

3. I am an avid fly fisherman, wishing I could live in the Colorado mountains.  My breathing changes the moment I step into a crystal clear mountain stream, and see rainbows and browns lying in the current, watching the bugs go by.  When a trout rises to sip at my dry fly, my pulse flutters.  I don’t know how many times I have read the novella A River Runs Through It, or how many times I have watched that film.  There is nothing like fly fishing in a mountain stream.

4. I perpetually suffer from Wanderlust.  I love going on road trips, have read Jack Kerouac’s On the Road at least once all the way through, and could not begin to count how many times it has been read to me (I have the 10-CD set on audiobook, and I play it on long road trips).  My lifestyle is to take my watercolor supplies on the road and record the places I go, the things I see, in watercolor.  I am an avid plein air painter.

5. I love to read and keep a journal.  As a teacher for twenty-four years in Philosophy, Art History and the Humanities, I have always had a Faust-like obsession to search out everything that is out there, to pick the minds of the best writers and thinkers throughout the centuries.  I love reading Greek and translating the ancients.   I love American literature.  I love poetry.  I love the essay.  My patron saints are Ralph Waldo Emerson, William Carlos Williams, Henry David Thoreau, Friedrich Nietzsche and Paul Tillich.

Five questions to answer:

  1. What 3 words best describe you?  driven, multi-interested, curious
  2. What is your most prized possession?  my Martin D-35 dreadnought acoustic guitar
  3. If you had 10 minutes to evacuate your house what 5 things would you take with you (not including family members or pets)?  My five best framed watercolors (the only possessions that could not be replaced)
  4. What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?  When you entered this life, you were dealt five cards.  You played the hand you were dealt the best you could.
  5. What is the one food item you can’t live without?  Sorry.  I just can’t take that question seriously.

My nominations for the Liebster Blog Award are:

http://coreyaber.wordpress.com/

http://lifeofawillow.wordpress.com/

http://lindahalcombfineart.wordpress.com/

http://photographyofnia.com/

http://theeffstop.com/

These are the five bloggers who really keep my work going, in addition to the five nominated already by zeebra designs.

I apologize that I don’t have new artwork to post today.  It was a four-hour state-mandated testing day at school today, followed by two hours of regular classes.  It wiped me out (again).  We’ll do this every day this week.  This afternoon when I got home, all I felt like doing was rearranging and reconfiguring my man cave, getting it ready for the next watercolor composition.  I hope to have that one set up and ready to paint by tomorrow afternoon.

Thanks always for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I am alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

19 Responses to “Today, I Proudly Accept the Liebster Award”

  1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs Says:

    What a beautiful acceptance post! I laughed at your answer to the final question!

    I look forward to seeing the new websites and meeting a few new artists!

    z

    Like

  2. Xraypics Says:

    Congratulations mate. Well deserved. What an interesting life you have lead. I found your answers to the questions interesting and amusing, they would be hard for me to answer, must think about No 3 some more. Cheerio, Tony

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      And congratulations to you as well. You would have been one of my nominees, but Zeebra beat me to it. Enjoy answering the questions. I answered most of them.

      Like

  3. Duncan Says:

    Congratulations sir! Job well done. Your artwork is beautiful and your blog is inspiring. Keep it up.

    Like

  4. coreyaber Says:

    First off, congratulations! Well done. Second, thanks for calling out my blog. That means a lot to me coming from someone whose blog and work I have enjoyed and learned so much from.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you, Corey. Your writing and your watercolor inspire me. Your serious thoughts inspire me. I hope you continue to share,and make all of us better.

      Like

  5. lifeofawillow Says:

    Youre awesome! Thank you, You inspire me time and again 🙂

    Like

  6. niasunset Says:

    Congratulations dear David, this is so nice, you deserve. Thank you for nominating my blog too, I’m honored to have this from you. I love your art work and your blog, so inspirational and also I learn so many things from your sharings and works. Thank you for this too. Blessing and Happiness, love, nia

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Your photography has a way of lifting me out of my current environment, and taking me to faraway places. Thank you for doing that, for sharing that, and making it possible to live better.

      Like

  7. readjanatraff Says:

    Really cool! Thanks to the passing around of that Liebster I ended up here and I will definitely be back again. I love the door and screen painting and all that I have seen so far. Cheers!

    Like

  8. Playamart - Zeebra Designs Says:

    as i worked with saw, hammer, nails, paint, etc today in the studio, i realized that you’ve not posted anything lately.. now i see that you’re not feeling well. hope you’re better soon.
    z

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank You. I’ve been really sick since Friday–to sick to use my eyes for reading or making art. Today I’ve been a little better, but am still weak. Thank you for missing me.
      Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

      Like

  9. Reid Rogers Says:

    I enjoyed reading this David. I am very impressed with your credentials, education, and creative accomplishments in all areas of the arts. I like that one aspect of how you define yourself by what interests you in life, not just your activities. Noticed in a response you mentioned being ill. If it was the same virus I had since last Thursday, my sympathies. I hate how being sick stifles the creative impulse. FYI, “really sick” describes it quite accurately!

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Reid, thank you so much for posting, and please forgive my tardy response. I got much worse before I got better. Today (Wednesday) is my first “OK” day since last Friday. Thank you for reading about my ideas, my passions, and thank you for appreciating them. I feel a real connection with you, not just because of the guitar, but because in personal conversation you expressed interest over a whole plethora of subjects. I look forward to the time that we can sit down over coffee or a beer and converse further over these. Thanks again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

