Changes

Transitions from Magnolia to Mobilgas

Transition from Magnolia to Mobilgas

The ever-whirling wheel

Of Change; the which all mortal things doth sway.

Edmund Spenser, The Faerie Queene

Finally, I post this painting that I completed a couple of weeks ago for one of my Christmas commissions.  The owner requested a 1950’s-era filling station (I believe it was 1959) when Magnolia changed to Mobilgas.

With the coming of the New Year, our minds wax pensive with resolutions as we continually confront changes in lives, our environments.  I have been reading lately from the Book of Ecclesiastes (Qohelet) as I do in the closing days of every year.  The aged author seems to complain that amidst all the changes that there yet remains “nothing new under the sun.”  Personally, I grew weary of the adage years ago that “The only constant is change.”  But I live with that, and wrestle with it throughout my years in education, and now personally as I watch 2013 wane and prepare for the unknown features of 2014.  I do love the face of Janus, the Roman god, looking in two directions simultaneously, and continually think of January as the hinge between those two worlds.

This has been an excellent day to reflect and sort out some matters, while reading and painting (and blogging).  And I can indeed testify that I am looking forward to the new age about to dawn, even though it brings the typical anxieties.  Currently I am so grateful for the “down time” for reflecting and creating new things.  I won’t return to school until January 6, and plan to suck the marrow out of this week that lies ahead.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

 

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Changes”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    David, do enjoy the down time, so necessary in life, especially in a busy one like yours. Thanks also for sharing the Magnolia painting, I am enjoying it right now. For some reason my internet is running slow so as I loaded the picture I was given time to study it strip by strip, and the detail is exquisite. The new owner should be very proud of it. And – compliments of the season mate. Have a very happy New Year. Tony

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Thank you, Tony. My best goes out to you. Thank you for looking at my Magnolia painting. I’m proud of the way it came out, and really admire the vision of the patron who “thought up” the composition and presented it to me. I hope all is well on your end of the art world.

      Like

      • Xraypics Says:

        Thanks, I’ve been reading your other posts and enjoying them, and especially like Lisa’s comment – how true. I’m trying out something new and am nutting out the direction. Not sure whether to post it if it doesn’t work (as an example of my failure) – or not, but hoping it will – we’ll see. Cheers, Tony

        Like

      • davidtripp Says:

        I hope you do post it. I know that struggle though–when I do post the “ugly” on my blog, that I am showing everybody out there that some of my efforts suck. But I try to take the high road and post the stuff anyway as a reminder to all (not just myself!) that we create a large body of work, good as well as not-so-good. We create, period. If we don’t have the courage to take risks and make bad art, I believe we’re less likely to make good art.

        Like

      • Xraypics Says:

        Thanks David, wise advice. Tony

        Like

  2. Foghorn The IKonoclast Says:

    warm and beauiful

    Like

Leave a comment