The Quiet of the Evening

image

Our life is frittered away by detail.
Henry David Thoreau, Walden

The first day of school was largely successful. Of course, I rose at 5 a.m., because I always have trouble sleeping the night before day one. By the time the day was done, I was totally exhausted, which came as no surprise.

I put in a number of hours this evening, working out details for tomorrow’s classes. But then, I brought it all to a halt. I have resolved that I will no longer allow my life to be frittered away by minutia. I worked out the broad assignments for tomorrow, and then decided to give the rest of the evening back to myself.

I have posted a portion of the lower left hand corner of my large watercolor. This portion measures about 8 by 8 inches. There is a good deal of masking underneath the wet surface that I will not be able to remove until tomorrow when it’s dry.

And now I read and write in my journal with genuine pleasure, as I await sleep to take over. It has been a good day, thank you so much for reading.
I paint in order to learn.
I journal when I feel alone.
I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

4 Responses to “The Quiet of the Evening”

  1. Ryan Reece Says:

    Simplify, simplify.

    Like

  2. certainline Says:

    Could I ask a question of unparalleled dullness? How do you apply the masking fluid? Told you it was dull…

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Not dull at all, thank you for asking. I use the masquepen. It comes in a squeeze bottle with a steel syringe tip. When I squeeze out the fluid, it’s like a fountain pen. Very controllable.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

