Settling into My New Writing Sanctuary

desk

A Most Precious Gift–a New Writing Desk

desk library

My Newly-Designated Writing Area

“Do not worry. You have always written before and you will write now. All you have to do is write one true sentence. Write the truest sentence that you know.” So finally I would write one true sentence, and then go on from there.  It was easy then because there was always one true sentence that you knew or had seen or had heard someone say. If I started to write elaborately, or like someone introducing or presenting something, I found that I could cut that scrollwork or ornament out and throw it away and start with the first true simple declarative sentence I had written.

Ernest Hemingway, A Moveable Feast

The most frutstrating part of being ill the past couple of weeks was the inability to use my eyes for reading, writing or making art.  For months I had been toiling over a manusccript describing my experience painting and journaling on the Texas Laguna Madre last summer.  During the struggle I took Hemingway’s words to heart, refusing to succumb to writer’s block, and refusing to think my writing was garbage. As the manuscript grew and became more unmanageable, and as the school semester became more demanding with its unceasing deadlines, I pushed the manuscript into a drawer and decided to let the ideas “compost” awhile. Then I got sick!

Now I’m better, and a most wonderful gift was given to me that I shall always cherish–a rolltop desk. Designating a corner of my bedroom as my writing area, I’ve dedicated a part of every single day to sitting here and reworking the manuscript I began last June. I have always loved the writing process and now will seek a way to strike a balance between my writing and painting studios. I’m grateful that life is abundant enough to support both endeavors.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Settling into My New Writing Sanctuary”

  1. Xraypics Says:

    Great to have you back David. and I envy you that desk. What a wonderful gift. what a wonderful way to focus the mind whilst writing. I shall take the Hemingway quote to heart and try and discipline my writing too. Thanks for that.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      Good morning, Tony. Thank you for responding to my blog. I’ve really enjoyed the desk immensely, and have had a great holiday season, painting and reading. I hope the same went for you as well!

      Like

  2. Michael Richards (certainline) Says:

    Wonderful desk. Glad to hear you’re on the mend.

    Like

  3. Deanna Palla Says:

    So sorry to hear that you had been sick. Sounds like you might have had the same thing that so many others have been experiencing this month (including me). Love your desk and always enjoy your musings. Deanna

    Like

Leave a comment