Song of the Open Road 

Jack Kerouac said, “Everybody goes home in October.” Well, it is November, but I am going home. The Thanksgiving holidays have arrived at a good time, and with coffee in hand, I am thoroughly enjoying this “windshield time.” The guitar music of Michael Hedges is soothing to me. The fall colors are delicious in Oklahoma. And I am grateful for this long stretch of highway time that gives me the opportunity to let my thoughts glide by.

At my age, the years accelerate. It seems that school started yesterday, but now I realize the semester ends in 3 weeks. And then another Christmas arrives. I love this time of the year, but there are so many sobering memories that cling to it and I find a commingling of joy and sadness. To say the very least, there is a real depth of feeling that attaches to this season of the year.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember. 

I journal when I feel alone. 

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone. 

2 Responses to “Song of the Open Road ”

  1. Lorraine McFarland Says:

    I love Michael Hedges. Perfect travel music!

    Like

Leave a comment