Donny Still Searching for his Frame of Reference

Continued Work on the Archer City Filling Station Door

Continued Work on the Archer City Filling Station Door

Summer School is in its final minutes.  I’ve taken out this watercolor sketch begun last evening, and am surveying what I did to it during intermittent breaks in this morning’s schedule.  I’m enjoying it more, and feel that some of it is starting to take shape.  I still have some complicated compositional matters to resolve, and still am “out of my element,” unsure that I’ll be able to pull that off.  Nevertheless, I’ve learned a great deal about texturing, thanks to the door jambs.  I’ve also been mesmerized by the gradations of color across the window of this door, and the fragmented cigarette poster afixed to it.  That is where I’m finding the devil and his details, and I must say I’m having a good time of it.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal because I feel that I am alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

