The Sweetness that Comes with the Dawn

Mornings Spent with Thoreau and Watercolor

Mornings Spent with Thoreau and Watercolor

The Vedas say “All intelligences awake with the morning.”  Poetry and art, and the fairest and most memorable of the actions of men, date from such an hour. . . . Morning is when I am awake and there is a dawn in me.  Moral reform is the effort to throw off sleep.

Henry David Thoreau, Walden

I could not have asked for a better morning.  Mine began, without an alarm, at 5:40.  Since then, aside from the necessities of showering and making breakfast, I have had the luxury of reading from the pages of Thoreau and working on this watercolor, back and forth.  I am finding just as much splendor in staring into these greens and trying to capture the essence of this rural Whitesboro land as I derive from the written words of the Sage, Henry David Thoreau.  The morning has brought to me his Journals, his Walden, and his Week on the Concord and Merrimack Rivers.  The power of his thought is sending me to other worlds.  I could not be more pleased.  I found it necessary to pause from these indulgences and send out another blog.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I am alone.

I blog to keep from feeling totally alone.

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

