Pondering a Weekend of Beauty

Sunday Night, Looking over the Weekend's Mementoes

Sunday Night, Looking over the Weekend’s Mementoes

One thing is certain.  It is difficult to produce beautiful things, particularly to do so consistently.  I know.  I make paintings.

Ian Roberts, Creative Authenticity

Tomorrow is the first day of autumn, and Texas will probably take another week or two or three before the foliage begins to turn. But I have determined not to sit this one out as a plein air wannabe.  As I have written before, my blogging slowed down sharply when I took my vacation at the end of the summer and returned just in time to resume teaching high school and college. Two new responsibilities became mine, and I did my best not to fall behind in either of them.  Hence, something had to go, and the watercoloring/blogging subsided.  But they never vanished from my consciousness, and I happily traveled to my first balloon launch yesterday for the sole purpose of getting out the watercolor Fluid block and seeing what I could do in the waning afternoon sunlight, as I blocked in the valley below and then watched those magnificent balloons, trying at the same time to capture a few of them in my composition.  The experience was refreshing beyond description, and now I am just aching to practice on the colors of turning leaves very, very soon.

Because of the new schedule I am holding down, I have curtailed my fall art festival participation to just three shows for now (I have done as many as eight in years gone by during the months of September-October). My first one will be next weekend, and I’ll try my best to put something up on the blog concerning those activities.  This coming Friday-through-Sunday will be the South Street Art Festival in Arlington, Texas, adjacent to the Levitt Performing Arts pavilion.  Artists and vendors will line the street just south of the concert stage.  This will be my third year in a row to exhibit in this venue, and it has always been a rewarding experience.

I still have a considerable stack of high school and college work before me that has to be completed before bedime (late again tonight, I am afraid).  But at least I put in an excellent weekend, filled with beauty and warm sentiments.  My deepest wishes are to have something memorable to blog again, very soon.

Thanks always for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am not alone.

2 Responses to “Pondering a Weekend of Beauty”

  1. Deanna Tennent Masterson Says:

    How wonderful that you are writing again! Are you using your new phone for the posts?

    Like

Leave a Reply

