Late Night Experiments in the Studio

Laying Down the First Washes Late at Night

Laying Down the First Washes Late at Night

As the rain continues to drench north central Texas, I find myself enjoying the quiet of the studio, save for the pelting of the rain against the garage door. After spending considerable time drawing and re-drawing the composition of galvanized pail, apples and screen door, I then worked on the tedious task of screen wire texture by dragging a masquepen along a straightedge propped above the paper with erasers, first vertically, then horizontally after the vertical strokes had time to dry.  Drying time for the masquing took a long time tonight with the humidity factor present in the cold, damp garage.  Once the fluid was dry to the touch, I mixed a stew of Winsor Green, Alizarin Crimson, Winsor Red, Cadmium Red Medium, Winsor Blue (Red Shade), Winsor Violet and Transparent Yellow to create the warm dark wash I then flooded over the masqued screen wire.  Next, I added Permanent Rose to the stew I had mixed and laid in the shadow beneath the pail. Finally, I mixed Cadmium Orange into the existing stew to create the inside rusted tone of the pail.  All this work turned my paper surface into a lake, so I realized I would not be able to continue work on this until morning.  Before I turned out the lights in the garage, I noticed to my astonishment a very unusual separation of warm and cool colors taking place in the shadow beneath the pail. Working for only my second time on hot-pressed paper, I’m finding all kinds of surprises on the surface of this paper.  The experiments are proving to be very interesting, early in this compositional study.

For years, I’ve lacked the guts to pursue still life in watercolor, though I gazed worshipfully at the drybrush renderings of arcane objects in the Andrew Wyeth ouevre.  A couple of winters ago, I took a stab at a couple of large still lifes, and since then have tried my hand at a few more.  I cannot describe my feelings when I contemplate these objects, each with its own history, its own plethora of memories.  Though I’m trying to learn the technical means to render them on paper, I just cannot stop gazing at them and thinking of what they’ve contributed to our lives.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to remember.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself that I am never really alone.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Late Night Experiments in the Studio”

  1. coreyaber Says:

    This one looks like it will be very interesting. A potent composition. In reading Cesare Pavese’s diaries yesterday I came across an entry from 12.13.1944 that I thought you’d find resonant: “The richness of life lies in memories we have forgotten.” One could say that your paintings are about accessing those memories.

    Like

    • davidtripp Says:

      I really like that diary quote, thank you. That shock of recognition makes me think of Proust and how warm we feel when something returns to us from that forgotten memory. Thanks for posting that.

      Like

  2. lifeofawillow Says:

    lovely. i like how deeply you reach for your art…

    Like

  3. gpcox Says:

    Each one is unique and so many bring back wonderful memories – thank you for your talent, experimenting, labor and sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

