Pouring Inside the Studio, May 9, 2010

1950 Chevy Sedan Delivery, poured watercolor

Normally, my watercolors are 8 x 10″ or 9 x 12″ since I like to carry D’Arches watercolor blocks around with me in the field.  However this one I’m working on in the studio, and it’s 24 x 18″ which is huge for me.  I’m getting lost inside the composition, which I guess is a good thing.  I feel no rush to complete it, and am really enjoying the process of pouring the pigment onto wet paper, tilting it around, and creating various effects and textures.  Sometimes I feel like a mad scientist in his laboratory.  I’ve done plenty of work with X-acto knife, toothbrush, masking fluid, paper towels, squirt bottle, salt and other various tools that I usually don’t carry around in the field.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Pouring Inside the Studio, May 9, 2010”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Wow! The color absolutely pops. Quite eye-catching! Have fun…

    Like

  2. David Tripp Says:

    Thanks. I’ve struggled to find quality time to enrich this. Too much school crap on my calendar.

    Like

Leave a comment