New Gallery Opening in Palestine, Texas

plein air

Beginning of a Painting of the View across the Street from Inside the Gallery

The Gallery at Redlands in Palestine, Texas opened like a whirlwind this morning, and remained strong till the rainstorms arrived. Now I have a quiet space in which I can attempt to blog.  I set up my plein air easel inside the gallery and began drafting the building across the street. By the time I finished drawing and was ready to flood the page with water and pigment, the sky darkened and the rain began to pour.  I don’t feel like painting a dull scene, so I am taking my chances on a sunwashed scene tomorrow. Meanwhile I have a stack of books to read and a blog to resume . . .

newspaper

Today’s Newspaper and Supplement

Andy Warhol checked the New York Times and New York Daily News, reportedly every day, and when his name wasn’t mentioned somewhere, he sunk into depression. This morning, we were too busy to think about such, but when the newspaper and supplement arrived, we were happily stunned to see we made the front page and center page adjacent to the Dogwood Trails Celebration map. We could not have asked for better publicity!

pal1

A Sublime Start to the Day

I set the alarm to wake at first light, so I could take my coffee out to the balcony and watch the town come to life. The time spent sketching and journaling was soothing to my soul, as I retired to bed a tad uptight about how the first day would unfold.  Anticipation for this show had been building for quite some time.

pal10

“Catholic Contemplation”

This show marks the first time that this painting has gone on public view.  I completed if a few years back, and it’s on a full sheet of 300# D’Arches watercolor paper.  I just had it framed a few days ago, and we installed it in the gallery yesterday afternoon.  I have it priced at $1150.

pal7

 “First Night in Waterford”

This is a watercolor I completed some years ago as a commission for the cover of a fiction novel. The book was published and the author purchased the first edition giclee print, but I have retained the original which I had framed and has stayed in my home.  I have put it in this show and priced it at $550.

pal6

“No Longer Home”

This is a watercolor of my grandparents’ farm home in rural Jackson, Missouri, where I spent my summers as a child.  The top bedroom window marks the area where I slept on those summer nights. This one has been priced at $500.

Despite the storms chasing away potential patrons, plenty of people have strolled in and some sales were made, so we can say it’s been a good first day. I can’t wait for tomorrow.

Thanks for reading.

I paint in order to learn.

I journal when I feel alone.

I blog to remind myself I am not alone.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “New Gallery Opening in Palestine, Texas”

  1. Carol Says:

    I am so happy to hear that the day is going well – best of luck for the remainder of the show!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

